Head of School
Courtney Fox
Courtney.fox@fsma.k12.de.us

Education Director
Liz Madden
Liz.madden@fsma.k12.de.us

Art 
Shivaun Jester
Shivaun.jester@fsma.k12.de.us

Music
Agnieszka Dziedzic
Agnieszka.dziedzic@fsma.k12.de.us

Library/Tech
Mae-Lynn Smith
Mae.smith@fsma.k12.de.us

Phys. Education
Kerry Smith
Kerry.smith@fsma.k12.de.us

K/1st

Room 2
Dorothy Tovar
Dorothy.tovar@fsma.k12.de.us
Natalie Kegelman
Natalie.kegelman@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 6
Ginger Mayhew
Ginger.mayhew@fsma.k12.de.us
Anabelle O’Malley
Anabelle.omalley@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 12
Ellen McGirr
Ellen.mcgirr@fsma.k12.de.us
Jen Salerni
Jen.salerni@fsma.k12.de.us

2nd/3rd

Room 10
Jill Pyle
Jill.pyle@fsma.k12.de.us
Andi Kuemmerle
Andrea.kuemmerle@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 16
Mary Falkenburg
Mary.falkenburg@fsma.k12.de.us
Tricia LePera
Tricia.lepera@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 20
Karin Nagle
Karin.nagle@fsma.k12.de.us
Lesley Mellinger
Lesley.mellinger@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 11
Megan Feliceangeli
Megan.feliceangeli@fsma.k12.de.us
Jenny Slease
Jenny.slease@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 17
Cheryl Jones
Cheryl.jones@fsma.k12.de.us
Maureen Northey
Maureen.northey@fsma.k12.de.us

4th/5th/6th

Room 113
Rachel Josloff
Rachel.josloff@fsma.k12.de.us
AnneMarie Burk
Annemarie.burk@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 115
Karen Grandell
Karen.grandell@fsma.k12.de.us
Julie Bacon
Julie.bacon@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 205
Maribeth Low
Maribeth.low@fsma.k12.de.us
Stewart Hawkins
Stewart.hawkins@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 114
Melissa Sugzdinis
Melissa.sugzdinis@fsma.k12.de.us
Karen Erskine
Karen.erskine@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 204
Natalie Marchiani
Natalie.marchiani@fsma.k12.de.us
Kathy Stirparo
Kathy.stirparo@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 206
Brynley Nichols
Brynley.nichols@fsma.k12.de.us
Liz Plant
Liz.plant@fsma.k12.de.us

Special Education Team

Susan Burton

Mary Griffin
Mary.griffin@fsma.k12.de.us

Holly Pommerening
Holly.Pommerening@fsma.k12.de.us

Nursing Team

Office Staff

Facilities
Pete Antonelli
Pete.antonelli@fsma.k12.de.us

Head of School

Courtney FoxCourtney Fox

Courtney is an accomplished educator and respected school leader. She has been a part the Delaware education landscape for many years, attending the University of Delaware and Wilmington University as well as teaching in the Brandywine School District for fifteen years. In 2008, she was named the Delaware Teacher of the Year and this title created opportunities for her to work with teachers on a national level on many education initiatives. Courtney has attained National Board Certification, is an Early Childhood Generalist, a National Consultant for the Northeast Foundation for Children, and she trains teachers all over the country in Responsive Classroom. She currently holds a Master’s degree in Curriculum and Instruction as well as her Principal’s Certificate. Soon she will complete her Doctoral degree in Administrative Leadership.

As a leader in education, Courtney’s work has commanded many awards: she has received a… Email Courtney

Director of Education

Liz MaddenLiz Madden

Liz Madden has been involved in Montessori education for 17 years as an educator and leader. Most recently, she has served as Director of Educational Programs at a respected area Montessori school, and prior to that Liz taught 1st – 3rd grade. Her educational accomplishments include a BA in Psychology, EdM in Elementary Studies, as well as her Montessori Teacher Certification. Liz is currently completing a certification course for Early Childhood Administrators. As an expert in the field of Montessori education, Liz has presented locally for the Center for Montessori Advancement and nationally for the American Montessori Society. She strives to integrate current research and educational best practices within the time tested Montessori philosophy and is inspired to bring this educational method to more children in Delaware.

Liz lives in North Wilmington with her husband, 2 boys, Connor and Reece, and their dog, Chewie.  Email Liz

About the FSMA Staff

FSMA believes that every staff member is an important part of our school. Each person embodies the spirit of our school and has a great depth of skills. Our goal has always been to attract, develop, and retain the best teachers in Delaware to be a part of our “Dream Team” and we feel we have been successful in doing so. Our educators play an integral part of the growth and decision-making processes of our organization and help form the community that defines First State Montessori Academy. The educators at FSMA have the opportunity to be a part of an innovative organization that will positively change the educational experience of hundreds of children and their families.

Some specifics about our staff…

  • 52 staff members
  • 34 classroom teachers
  • 3 special education teachers (7 classroom teachers are also special education certified), a school psychologist and a speech pathologist
  • 4 special area teachers – P.E., library tech, art, and music (each person has created a unique curriculum that is Montessori inspired and standard aligned).
  • 2 administrators
  • 4 office staff
  • 2 nurses (1 per building)
  • 1 facilities director

Share This Page!