Head of School
Courtney Fox
Courtney.fox@fsma.k12.de.us

Education Director
Liz Madden
Liz.madden@fsma.k12.de.us

Art 
Shivaun Jester
Shivaun.jester@fsma.k12.de.us

Music
Sheila Jackson
Sheila.jackson@fsma.k12.de.us

Agri-Science
Courtnie Kriss
Courtnie.kriss@fsma.k12.de.us

Library
Jessica Gascard
Jessica.gascard@fsma.k12.de.us

Tech & French
Maureen Northey
Maureen.northey@fsma.k12.de.us

Phys. Education
Monica Harmon
Monica.harmon@fsma.k12.de.us

K/1st

Room 2
Dorothy Tovar
Dorothy.tovar@fsma.k12.de.us
Natalie Kegelman
Natalie.kegelman@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 6
Ginger Mayhew
Ginger.mayhew@fsma.k12.de.us
Kerry Stewart
Kerry.stewart@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 12
Ellen Kropiewnicki
Ellen.kropiewnicki@fsma.k12.de.us
Jennifer Scarpitti
Jennifer.scarpitti@fsma.k12.de.us

2nd/3rd

Room 11
Megan Schuster
Megan.schuster@fsma.k12.de.us
Toria Avigliano
Toria.avigliano@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 17
Cheryl Jones
Cheryl.jones@fsma.k12.de.us
Colleen Ebright
Colleen.ebright@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 20
Karin Nagle
Karin.nagle@fsma.k12.de.us
Mollie Esposito
Mollie.esposito@fsma.k12.de.us

4th/5th/6th

Room 114
Rye Josloff
Rye.josloff@fsma.k12.de.us
AnneMarie Burk
Annemarie.burk@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 305
Stephanie Berger
Stephanie.berger@fsma.k12.de.us
Kara Baron
Kara.baron@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 310
Brynley Nichols
Brynley.nichols@fsma.k12.de.us
Cammy Russell
Cammy.russell@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 312
Leah McCall
Leah.mccall@fsma.k12.de.us
Sarah Leaman
Sarah.leaman@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 115
Karen Grandell
Karen.grandell@fsma.k12.de.us
Rachael DeFino
Rachael.defino@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 307
Emilie Englehart
Emilie.englehart@fsma.k12.de.us
Kathy Stiparo
Kathy.stiparo@fsma.k12.de.us

Room 311
Lesley Mellinger
Lesley.mellinger@fsma.k12.de.us
Carly Ewald
Carly.ewald@fsma.k12.de.us

Middle School & Content Specialists

Middle School
Natalie Marchiani
Natalie.marchiani@fsma.k12.de.us
Jennifer Leitner
Jennifer.leitner@fsma.k12.de.us

Science
Liz Plant
Liz.plant@fsma.k12.de.us

Math
Beth Thomas
Beth.thomas@fsma.k12.de.us

Student Support & Special Education

Jennifer Whittaker
Speech & Language Teacher
Jennifer.whittaker@fsma.k12.de.us

Leah Fyock
Educational Diagnostician
Leah.fyock@fsma.k12.de.us

Holly Pommerening
School Pyschologist
Holly.Pommerening@fsma.k12.de.us

Laura Schwait
Student Support/Guidance Counselor
Laura.schwait@fsma.k12.de.us

Meghan Cattermole
Lower School Teacher
Meghan.cattermole@fsma.k12.de.us

Anabelle O’Malley
Lower School Teacher
Anabelle.omalley@fsma.k12.de.us

Leslie Turner
Upper School Teacher
Leslie.turner@fsma.k12.de.us

Carla Broadway
Student Support
Carla.broadway@fsma.k12.de.us

Nursing Team

Office Staff

Facilities
Pete Antonelli
Pete.antonelli@fsma.k12.de.us

Head of School

Courtney FoxCourtney Fox

Courtney is an accomplished educator and respected school leader. She has been a part the Delaware education landscape for many years, attending the University of Delaware and Wilmington University as well as teaching in the Brandywine School District for fifteen years. In 2008, she was named the Delaware Teacher of the Year and this title created opportunities for her to work with teachers on a national level on many education initiatives. Courtney has attained National Board Certification, is an Early Childhood Generalist, a National Consultant for the Northeast Foundation for Children, and she trains teachers all over the country in Responsive Classroom. She currently holds a Master’s degree in Curriculum and Instruction as well as her Principal’s Certificate. Soon she will complete her Doctoral degree in Administrative Leadership.

As a leader in education, Courtney’s work has commanded many awards: she has received a… Email Courtney

Director of Education

Liz MaddenLiz Madden

Liz Madden has been involved in Montessori education for 17 years as an educator and leader. Most recently, she has served as Director of Educational Programs at a respected area Montessori school, and prior to that Liz taught 1st – 3rd grade. Her educational accomplishments include a BA in Psychology, EdM in Elementary Studies, as well as her Montessori Teacher Certification. Liz is currently completing a certification course for Early Childhood Administrators. As an expert in the field of Montessori education, Liz has presented locally for the Center for Montessori Advancement and nationally for the American Montessori Society. She strives to integrate current research and educational best practices within the time tested Montessori philosophy and is inspired to bring this educational method to more children in Delaware.

Liz lives in North Wilmington with her husband, 2 boys, Connor and Reece, and their dog, Chewie.  Email Liz

About the FSMA Staff

FSMA believes that every staff member is an important part of our school. Each person embodies the spirit of our school and has a great depth of skills. Our goal has always been to attract, develop, and retain the best teachers in Delaware to be a part of our “Dream Team” and we feel we have been successful in doing so. Our educators play an integral part of the growth and decision-making processes of our organization and help form the community that defines First State Montessori Academy. The educators at FSMA have the opportunity to be a part of an innovative organization that will positively change the educational experience of hundreds of children and their families.

Some specifics about our staff…

  • 52 staff members
  • 34 classroom teachers
  • 3 special education teachers (7 classroom teachers are also special education certified), a school psychologist and a speech pathologist
  • 4 special area teachers – P.E., library tech, art, and music (each person has created a unique curriculum that is Montessori inspired and standard aligned).
  • 2 administrators
  • 4 office staff
  • 2 nurses (1 per building)
  • 1 facilities director

Share This Page!